Highlights of the last three decades of the Essex
by Mike Ashby

2010- 2011         
17th APRIL 2010
Clerk of the Course, Simon Marriage, was rewarded for all the hours, hard work and watering efforts applied to the course when he welcomed in his MONTEVIDEO and Andrew Braithwaite, into the winner’s enclosure in the opening Members’ race.

CAVEMAN  and George Greenock won the extended Countryside Alliance Club Members’, showing no ill effects of their busy season when beating Teeton Bollinger by a 

The Ladies’ Open saw the prestigious Warwick Vase go to owner Joe Turner for the 18th time when ASSASSINO defeated the odds-on favourite Mid Div and Creep, by three lengths.

FOULSTONS RULER gave Rupert Stearn his seventh winner of the season in the Intermediate race whilst there was a second career win for George Kennedy on GREEK STAR, who came with a rousing finish to land the Maiden, on the line. 

2000-2009        6th APRIL 2002
Two riders celebrated riding their first ever winners. Nicky Barnes achieved a memorable win in the opening Members’ race on ALFREDO GARCIA for the Marriage family. Nicky won a thrilling duel on the run-in beating none other than former national champion Nigel Bloom, who rode Net Profit, by a head.

Nigel did taste success on GLAISNOCK LAD, trained by his father Michael, who was a surprise 20/1 winner of the Men’s Open. 

17-year old Rupert Stearn was the other rider to register his first win which came in the Restricted race on IMPERIAL MIST, again a head being the winning margin from Holy Moses. 
The Turner stable had two winners. CELTIC DUKE and Zoe Turner in the Ladies’Open and CORSTON JOKER, in the Confined, with Andrew Sansome in the saddle.

The Maiden was split with Division One going to  Harry Hobson’s ANDREW’S and Sylvain Salmon and Division Two saw David Claydon’s 5-year-old MAI KNIGHT and Rachel Barrow win in impressive style.

1990-1999     26th MARCH 1994
This was that memorable day when the Bloom horseboxes turned up in deepest Essex and returned home to Norfolk with no less than five winners aboard, all ridden by Nigel Bloom.

Nibby’s list of winners read as 

MILLBAY (  Confined )  
CHATTERLEY (  Restricted ) 
MELTON PARK ( Men’s Open ) 
HESTAN ISLAND and FIGHTING TROUT ( Part 2 / Div.One and Div. Two of the Maiden )

 It was a privilege to be present on this momentous occasion.

There were other winners on the eight-race card. DURBO and Nicky Ledger won the Ladies’ Open and Tim Moore rode CASS to victory in Part 1 / Div. One of the Maiden. There were only four runners in the Members’ race but this still resulted in a dead-heat between FOXY GAMES ( Robin Gill ) andYORK ROYAL ( Katie Moore ).